Legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and eminent scientist C N R Rao were conferred the Bharat Ratna, India's highest civilian award, by President Pranab Mukherjee at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on 4th February, 2014.

Sachin, who was nominated to the Rajya Sabha last year, became the youngest recipient and the first sports person to receive the award. He and Professor Rao join the elite list of 41 personalities to have received the award.

Sachin is also the recipient of Padma Vibhushan, the country's second highest civilian honor.

The Bharat Ratna award was instituted in 1954, and is given in recognition of exceptional service or performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour.

Some of the eminent personalities who have received the award include Pandit Bhimsen Joshi (2009), Ustad Bismillah Khan (2001) and Lata Mangeshkar (2001).

Donate to IndiaSpend

Support IndiaSpend’s award-winning investigative journalism.

Your tax-deductible contribution to IndiaSpend will help us, and other publications around the country, reveal critical stories that otherwise wouldn’t be told - stories that make a difference!