The first phase of General Election 2019 begins on 11th of April. People from 7 constituencies of Maharashtra will vote on this day.

Nagpur is one among them. The sitting MP of Nagpur is Union Roads and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari, who is trying to retain the seat for the second consecutive term.

The opponent is Congress' Nana Patole - former BJP MP from (Bhandara Gondia ) who joined the Congress after a row with Prime MinIster Narendra Modi.

Nagpur is the home base of Maharashtra's chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and also the headquarters of the Rashtriya SwayamSevak Sangh - BJP's ideological mentor.